Modeling and Texturing the Checkpoint

This post follows the process I take to model and texture objects within Velicous Racing.

The process begins in Maya, I first block out the basic shape using the existing track block out I have saved in Maya.

mayh1

Once the basic block out is complete I move the checkpoint into its own file so I can finalize the shape and add fine details. At this point I also UV map the blockout, this is so that if I decide to bevel an edge or champfer a corner the UV map is update automatically. I also UV map the sign portion of the checkpoint separately so a tile-able texture can be used.

Now the UV mapping is done i begin to add basic low poly details, such as edge bevels.

maya14

With the basic low poly finished I move on to creating the high poly model so it can be baked for normal maps, so that the edges of the low poly model display correctly. More details will be added to the normal map later using the Quixel Suite.

maya15.jpg

With both the low and high poly models created I go ahead and create a cage for both parts of the model, because only one part of the model(not the flat screen) needs normal maps I will be baking that part of the model only

With the basic normal and ambient occlusion maps baked, I can bring the model into the Quixel suite, specifically so that I can use NDo to create a more detailed normal map.

ndo#

Above model loaded into Ndo with no adjustments made to normal map.The video below shows me created a more detailed map for the prop using NDo.

Once the more detailed normal map is created it is time to move the prop into DDo within the suite so that the other texture maps can be created. Displayed below all the maps that DDo requires in order to operate properly.

The video below show my process of creating the other texture maps within Quixel.

With the prop textured I can import the asset into Unity and assign the various materials. Because I keep the emissive map completely back and white I can now adjust this value in the editor which is how i am able to change the color of the checkpoint to suite its surroundings.

The final step in creating the checkpoint is to animate the lettering, because I have created the object in two parts with two UV maps I can simply offset the texture through script which will give it the appearance of moving. The video below illustrates this,

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

